The CAN DO Community Foundation announced the seven area high school students who were selected as Dessen Scholars who will receive a scholarship to participate in the Junior Leadership Hazleton program. The Edgar L. Dessen Community Service Award was established in 2001 to honor CAN DO’s founder, Dr. Edgar L. Dessen, and mark the organization’s 45th anniversary. The scholarships are awarded annually.

dessen scholars 2022 2023This year’s recipients, their high school and their interests are:
Juliette Bartel, Weatherly High School, is captain of the girls’ soccer team, plays softball, is a cheerleader, and is on the yearbook staff and SGA Interact Club. 

Hazleton Area High School student Andrea Buenano is on the water polo team, swim team, and is a member of the math club. Andrea is also involved in her church as Youth Assistant, Children’s Youth Leader and Worship Team member.

John Drobnock III, MMI Prep School is in the Interact Club, plays on the golf and baseball teams and was a Rotary Ryler Camp selectee.

Kayleen Francisco Diaz, Hazleton Area Career Center is a cosmetology student who will be participating in the schools various clubs.

Hazleton Area High School student Diego Marmolejos is in the math club and will be joining the Executive Council. Diego is involved in community service at the Hazleton Community Center where he is a homework assistant.

Kaitlyn Petrilla, Hazleton Area Academy of Science, loves music and the sax. Kaitlyn is in the Marching Band and will play a spring sport.

Marion Catholic High School student Marcus Rosenstiel Jr. is President of the Hazleton Area Trap and Skeet Club and is involved in Rock Music Ministry, his Church Choir as well as the Marion Catholic High School Choir and the Drama program.

The Edgar L. Dessen Community Service Award scholarship recognizes area high school students and their volunteer efforts in the community. Through the award, a scholarship to Junior Leadership Hazleton is awarded to eligible high school students to further their experience in service and learning leadership and teamwork skills. The Dessen scholarship has encouraged students to become active in their community and become more self-confident as they prepare to their further education and beyond.

Gary F. Lamont president said, “on behalf of the CAN DO Community Foundation, congratulations to all the members of this year’s Dessen Scholars.” Mr. Lamont extended a special thank you to Michael and Jane Dougherty and the Junior Leadership board of directors. He acknowledged this year’s Dessen selection committee members, Chris Stamatopoulos, chair, Melissa Curto, Melissa Frederick, Jeff Gicking, and Jocelyn Sterenchock. Ms. Stamatopoulos noted that it was a difficult task in selecting the candidates due to the impressive applicants received.

Charles Burkhardt, Chair of the CAN DO Board said, “on behalf of the CAN DO Board of Directors, we’d like to congratulate all the Dessen Scholars. Best of luck in all future endeavors.”

For further information on the CAN DO Community Foundation visit