CAN DO Community Foundation holds 24th annual meeting at Ferrwood Music Camp

CDCF Annual Meeting

Officers were elected and accomplishments highlighted during the CAN DO Community Foundation’s 24th annual meeting held at Ferrwood Music Camp.

Prior to the meeting, foundation President Gary F. Lamont recognized Phil Latella for his leadership and volunteering efforts that, along with his team of volunteers, make the music camp a reality. The meeting opened with a thank you also to the members of the board, volunteers, the community and CAN DO for their contributions of time, talent and resources to the foundation during the past year. Lamont noted the significant funding that has been approved for projects that have been “adopted” by the Foundation.

“The effort of board members to be engaged in projects is noteworthy. It allows the foundation to provide support and to leverage their funds with other funding sources to accomplish mission-focused projects,” Lamont said.

Scholarships help area students attend 2016 Ferrwood Music Camp

More than 50 area students learned the value of a quality music education this summer thanks to the generosity of eight area organizations that sponsored scholarships for the children to attend the 2016 Ferrwood Music Camp.

The CAN DO Community Foundation, Chic Sacco, Community, Coxe Foundation, North Penn, Robbie Poltrok Jr. Memorial, Quin Foundation, Security Savings, Vince Fayock and Joseph Yenchko scholarships helped students in grades kindergarten through 12th expand their knowledge of music through band instrument and choral instruction.

Berger named 2016 CAN DO Community Foundation annual fund drive chairman

CDCF fund drive Earl BergerEarl C. Berger has accepted the chairmanship of the 2016 annual fund drive for the CAN DO Community Foundation. The foundation is privileged to have Earl lead this campaign for the sixth consecutive year. Earl is well recognized in the region and has a long list of civic and philanthropic accomplishments stated Gary F. Lamont, president.

He will be assisted by the following committee chairpersons and committee members Matthew B. Bayzick, Eugene M. Dougherty, Dr. Terrance M. Eyerly, Dr. Anthony Falvello, George R. Hludzik, Mark Imbriaco, Elaine Judd, Gary F. Lamont, Robert J. Moisey, E. Richard Moore, W. Kevin O’Donnell, Donald M. Pachence, John Patton, Lonnie Polli, E. Thomas Sandrock, Krista Schneider, John J. Spevak, Chris Stamatopoulos and Nancy Stasko.  

CAN DO Community Foundation working to improve Greater Hazleton since 1992

A goal of the CAN DO Planning Committee more than 25 years ago was to establish an affiliate organization to support worthwhile projects that would enhance the quality of life in Greater Hazleton. In 1992, the CAN DO Community Foundation was founded as the organization to carry out CAN DO’s intention. This organization, initially funded with seed money from CAN DO, has grown through the generosity of donors to its annual fund drive along with donations of real estate and bequeathed endowments.

The Foundation leverages these funds through the application of funding through other foundations and governmental programs. The Foundation created a unique model to carry out its mission of “Conservation, Preservation and Reclamation CPR – Breathing New life into the Community.” The Foundation partners or “adopts” a project with nonprofit organizations to support a focused project that meets its mission. Scholarships have also been endowed.

Seven high school students honored as Junior Leadership graduates

Seven local high sophomores were honored as members of the 2016 Junior Leadership of Hazleton graduating class. The students received a scholarship to attend Junior Leadership as recipients of the Edgar L. Dessen Community Scholarship Award.